June 17, 2010

Welcome to My Blog

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:12 pm by Ivy Beckwith Blog

This is my second attempt at blogging. For a while I was doing it on my website and then I let that go to seed as I got busy in a new church position. Then I was doing weekly podcasts and much of what I used to blog about went into the podcasts. Now for about 2 years or so I’ve done neither. I’ve decided it’s time to get my voice back out there.

I hope this blog will be about several things. First, I hope to comment on things that are happening in the church world and in the rest of the world that somehow pertain to the spiritual formation of children and youth. Sometimes I might review a book or movie. Other times I might comment on a newspaper article, magazine article, or something found in another blog. If anyone reading this listened to my podcasts of a few years back — I hope this blog will continue the commentary I started there.

Sometimes the blog might just be personal observations about something.

And sometimes it may be personal. For example, I find myself out of a job. I planned for this so I’m fine for a while. But I don’t want to waste too much time so I’m deep into job hunting. I plan to chronicle a little bit of that journey in this blog. Frankly, I’m going stir crazy. I can’t job hunt 8 hours a day and I’m used to being fairly busy. Right now I’m contacting my network and I have quite a large network so that is taking time. I’m also trying to ramp up my speaking/consulting/writing business in the interim.

I welcome civil comments. I want this blog to truly be a conversation. I want feedback.

I hope to blog most days but that may not happen. Some days I may not have anything to say.

2 Comments »

  1. Mary said,

    Looking forward to hearing your musings, Ivy.

  2. chadkmiller said,

    So glad to see you back at it. I hope you find gainful employment soon. Take care!


Leave a comment